Resources | VOL. 12, ISSUE 70, January-February 2012 |

Science and the Antarctic: Resource Exploitation, Regulatory Lacunae and Environmental Security

Scientific activities in the Antarctic play an important role in both supporting and defining states’ political engagement with the Continent. The seven states which maintain territorial claims to Antarctic – Argentina, Australia, Chile, France, New Zealand, Norway and the United Kingdom – all operate research stations within ‘their’ zones and, even today, fund more or less exclusively scientific research activities located therein. Equally, non-claimant states have used scientific activities and expeditions as a means to deny territorial claims. Within the...

To purchase this article, kindly sign in

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.