Earth Science | Magazine Articles |

The Glaciers of the Himalaya

The glaciers in the Indian Himalayas are divided in three geographical parts, commonly known as the western, central and eastern Himalayas. Put together, the mountain chain of the Himalayas extends for about 2,400 km and is fed by two dominant climate systems. The mid-latitude westerlies are responsible for the winter precipitation in the western and north western Himalayas, the Trans-Himalayas and the Tibet Himalayas. On the other hand, most of the southern and eastern part of the Himalayas experience pronounced...

To purchase this article, kindly sign in

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.